Chop chop

January 27, 2011

Was in Leicester today as the sleet came down and I needed something warming, cheap and quick for lunch. Somewhat against my better judgment I thought I’d try Choptstix, a  noodle bar  on the Market Place. It’s the kind of limited menu, high turnover place that might just turn out to be an unpolished gem.  Sadly it was a pretty joyless experience. Staff didn’t seem bothered, noodles seemed  fresh enough but overcooked, while the salt and pepper chicken was rather tasteless – tiny scraps of chicken overwhelmed by a thick batter.  In contrast the chilli relish in bowls on the refectory tables was massively ferocious. At £3.50 for a quite sizeable small box it  met my three criteria, but next time I’m thinking along those lines I don’t think I’ll bother.

Leave a Reply

