Vila Brasil

May 25, 2011

For  those of you heading over to the Leicester’s Summer Food Festival this coming Sunday, let me give you a little steer to visit my friend Eliene’s stall Vila Brasil.

She’ll be serving up quality Brazilian street food, including the national dish feijoida – a feisty black bean stew,  a fish stew with rice and delicacies like coxinhas – plump little pastries with chicken or fish fillings. Those of you on the recent Critical Mass bike ride may have enjoyed Eli’s food at the after party at the Crumbling Cookie and you’ll know how tasty it is. For the rest of you, it’s a treat in store.

Sadly I won’t be there as I’m off to Alsace for choucroute and a glass of gewurztraminer – but if you see her, have a chat, buy some food and say hi from Tim.

 

Update

Here’s Elie’s stall at Leicester’s Riverside Festival on 3rd June. Watch out for her at other events over the summer.

3 Responses to “Vila Brasil”

  1. Jane said

    I’m so glad I chanced upon this post of yours. I am off to the food festival in Leicester, on the invite of a couple of my friends who have set up stalls there. I absolutely love Brazilian cuisine and feijoida is a favourite. Will surely visit her and let you know how that goes, Tim!

    Like

    • riponia said

      Thanks Jane – hope you enjoyed the event and that you found Eliene. I’ve not spoken to her yet but am hoping it went well, I know she’d like to get a spot at the regular Friday/Saturday food court at Leicester’s Market Corner.

      Like

  2. Kevin said

    Saw the stall at the Riverside, and thought it was probably Eliene. I would have stopped, but (a) there was a really long queue, and (b) I had a coracle on my back! Really good festival, good food and music. I look forward to sampling the feijoida at some future event – keep us posted please Tim!

    Like

Leave a Reply

