A strange day out

November 3, 2011

I’m claiming a world first tonight. The first person ever to visit a two Michelin star restaurant and sit outside finishing off a Gregg’s Steak Bake.

It was probably the most surreal moment of a pretty strange day that had seen me visit dozens of the region’s finest restaurant, delis and cafes – and leave without eating in any of them. I was helping deliver the new edition – indeed Christmas edition –  of Great Food magazine to sales points and some prestige restaurants  who are keen to have a few copies for diners to browse. It was a day done at breakneck speed around Melton, Grantham and Nottingham. It was a great chance to visit venues such as the  the newly-Michelin listed Berkeley Arms in Wymondham  but very frustrating to  just drop and go (I know what I’m having when I do get back there – pork and black pudding terrine with crab apple jelly and toast, followed by roasted guinea fowl with wild mushroom and pearl barley risotto and carmelised poached pear with blackcurrant sorbet.)

A steak bake recently

Eventually then I was parked up in Nottingham dropping off at venues such as World  Service and Harts and time was getting short. It was 6.15pm and I had to be back in Leicester in a hour. I’d not eaten all day, I had  a £20 note and I needed  change for the car park. Well what would you have done? Gregg’s it was. But I had one last drop to make – under the flyover on Lenton Lane at Restaurant Sat Bains.  I felt somehow that I  was sullying the car park by bring in the salty, rather gristly pasty thing, but there you go – we all have to get by as we can.

It was worth rushing back to Leicester  – a tasting of rieslings at the splendid Evington’s.

2 Responses to “A strange day out”

  1. Charlotte said

    At least it wasn’t a sausage roll…

    Like

  2. […] this time over in Rutland, Northants and Cambridgeshire. I wasn’t going to get caught out like yesterday , and called a halt around 5.30 once I’d arrived at The Red Lion in East Haddon, near […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

